15% households with school aged children without internet access       39% of Aucklanders born overseas       82% of 18 year olds have NCEA Level 2       22% unemployment for 15-24 year olds       94.6% attend pre-school       1 in 4 children in poverty       79% pass NCEA Literacy in Yr 11       76% at or above national reading standards starting high school

Home About COMET Auckland Events Community Notices Literacy Languages Strategy SouthSci Skills Auckland Mātauranga Māori Learning Auckland Data and Resources Snapshots Submissions Publications News Newsletters Latest News Archives News Archives Core Documents Previous Programmes Job Opportunities Contact Us

Storylines National Festival Story Tour



 

Energetic storytelling by Michel Mulipola, Mark Sommerset, Sally Sutton
and Nina Rycroft at the 2016 South Auckland Story Tour 

The Storyline tour is a free event where writers and illustrators visit schools, homeschool groups, early childhood centres, community groups and libraries. It is aimed at preschool and school groups of all ages, so they can meet the creators of books and inspire students to undertake their own artistic, literary and dramatic efforts. Storylines match the guest authors and/or illustrators to the interests and age group of the audience. Contact Storylines if you are interested in a visit and hosting children from two or three neighbouring schools or early childhood services. Tour dates:

Northland Story Tour:
Monday 8 May to Friday 12 May 2017

South Auckland/ Waikato Story Tour:
Monday 19 June (Vodafone Events Centre, Manukau) and Tuesday 20 June - Friday 23 June 2017 (Waikato)

Bay of Plenty/ Tauranga Story Tour:
Monday 7 August - Friday 11 August 2017

Palmerston North Story Tour: 
Monday 21 August - Friday 25 August 2017

Nelson/ Blenheim Story Tour:
Monday 11 September - Friday 15 September 2017

Queenstown/ Invercargill Story Tour:
Monday 25 September - Friday 29 September 2017Applications have opened for the tour
here